Board, Staff & Alumni


The Willoughby Arts Centre Board is drawn from WAC membership and is comprised of representatives from teachers, students, and community members from the business and arts sector. The Board meetings are held every two months and the Annual General Meeting is held in May.

President Brian Manning. Brian has recently retired from a lengthy career with his hospitality software company. He has been active with WAC in the past, but had to put it to one side to focus on business. He is now enthusiastic about becoming involved with the WAC again, and getting back to drawing and painting.

Vice President Kathy Rosenmeyer. After a busy career in medicine, Kathy decided to pursue her interest in art, particularly in sculpture. She has been a member of the WAC for over 20 years whilst doing classes, workshops exhibiting her sculptures in Sydney and Country NSW. She was on the Board of the Wunanbiri Preschool in Alexandria for many years and has been on the WAC board since 2010.

Honorary Treasurer Ben Guthleben. Ben (BEc/LLB (Adel)) has had a career in law, finance and tax and is currently the manager international taxation with Australia’s largest telecommunications company. Ben has been a member of the WAC since 2015 and joined the board in 2016. He is passionate about the arts and looks forward to contributing to the very special place that is the WAC.

Honorary Secretary Roz Stampfli. Roz joined the Board in 2010 and has served as Hon Sec and Vice President over the years. She worked as a legal P.A., devised and managed Pets for Therapy voluntary programme and volunteered in an art therapy programme in palliative care. She studied Fine Arts before working in art therapy in the disabilities industry. Roz has been a practicing sculptor for over 15 years and exhibits regularly.

Director Penny Beran. Penny has been associated with the WAC intermittently since childhood for 50 years. She has attended year-long classes and weekend or holiday workshops in sculpture, painting, life drawing, printing. Penny supported several years of Market Days, She highly values experiential art and culture activities and participation. Her professional career focused on Information Systems Consulting and project management in government agencies and private companies.

Director Peter Whitehead. Peter has been an exhibiting artist for 40 years and has been connected to WAC for 10 years with classes and workshops. He has had 2 major exhibitions of his Kimberley work in the Ewart Gallery. He is a lawyer (recently retired) who has worked in legal and financial services in both private and public sectors in CEO, general counsel and client facing roles. He has chaired many public sector Audit & Risk Committees. More recently his focus has been working with wealthy families and Aboriginal communities managing intergenerational family governance, charitable trusts and foundations. Peter is keen to support WAC’s current and future success in being a cultural hub.


Arts Centre Manager Louise Ruddock

Marketing Coordinator Kate Dougan


Lloyd Rees, Three Boats - Lane Cove River 1978

The Willoughby Arts Centre is one of the oldest independent art centres in Australia, established in 1961. It has an impressive alumni including many Australian artists who are major figures in the history of art and contemporary practice.

The Centre has a list of acclaimed former and current students, teachers, visiting artists and judges including Lloyd Rees, John Coburn, Kerrie Lester and Jo Bertini.

Are you a WAC Alumnus? Please contact us as we would like to know your news.

A. Susan Archer

B. Fern Baudish Jo Bertini Margaret Blundell John Bokor Nancy Borlase AM David Bruce Steer Sue Buckley Ruth Burgess Julie Byrnes

C. Barbara Campbell-Allen Ann Cape Katrina Cashman Leonard Cayzer Jean Clark John Coburn Steve Coburn Mieke Cohen Laurie Collings Shirley Crapp Lucy Culliton Elisabeth Cummings Robert Curtis

D. Vivienne Dadour Marguerite Derricourt

E. Joy Ewart

F. Ruth Faerber David Fairbairn Carmen Field Mitzi Finey John Frith-Smith

G. Juta Gedersen James Gleeson Margot Goodall

H. Janette Hanrahan Jean Hanrahan Nicolas Harding Elaine Haxton Michael Herron Frank Hinder AM Frank Hodgkinson

K. Roz Kean Michael Kempson Edwin Kindred Marie King Jasper Knight

L. Paddy Lemcke OAM Kerrie Lester

M. Guy Maestri Frank Marjason Margaret Marjason Philip Martin Seraphina Martin Ian McKay Bettina McMahon

P. Jenny Pollak Beth Pyke

R. Mary Ramsay David Rankin Lloyd Rees CMG, AC Leo Robba Elizabeth Rooney

S. Edward Sachs Lori Sachs Helena Salm Luke Sciberras James Sharp Wendy Sharpe Joan Smith

T. James Tasker OAM Aida Tomescu Tony Tozer

V. Nicholas Vickers

W. Jenny Weissel Judith White Marjorie Woore